Ride To Work Day Sydney

by Alacoque

Dear Tillie,

today was Ride To Work Day and to celebrate the City of Sydney Council put on a free breakfast for folks who commute to the city by bike. I rolled up on my retro Electra and locked up with the hundreds of other bikes.

My Electra kinda stands out from the sporty pack

I was surprised by the huge turnout. I guess when cyclists whizz by one by one you don’t really get a sense of just how many there are. Unlike cars which sit still in traffic jams, allowing you to count them as you ride by. Unfortunately it was a lycra heavy event, which in itself is ok, but I was made to feel a bit uncomfortable and was asked (felt like interrogated) if I had in fact ridden when I was lined up for my free hot chocolate. It put a bit of a dampener on the event for me. The lovely Sarah Wilson got up on stage at one point and pointed out that yes, she had ridden here despite being gorgeously kitted out and sans lycra. Made me feel all warm and fuzzy.

The breakfast included coffee, pastries, bananas(!), and juice. There were also physiotherapists available to check your posture on your bike, and bike mechanics offering free tune ups. I loved the band! What a great start to the morning!

The rest of the day was also beautiful. I couldn’t help but share this gorgeous plant I snapped a photo of at lunch. Spring is well and truly here!

Love Coco xx

