Hell yes.

by tillieandcoco

Dear Coco,

I will gladly join the Church of Sit-Up Cycling. I’ll be prepared for the next time I am stopped by missionaries and will try to convert them! I started reading the comments on Sarah Wilson’s blog and got bored after a nanosecond. Why does every counter-argument to not wearing helmets start with “if motorists did this or that…tut tut”? WOW WHAT A BRILLIANT RELEVANT ARGUMENT. Incidentally, I think I went to school with Cheryl from businesschic.com.au (her blog gets far more comments than ours does, damn!)

What a beautiful quote by Susan B. Anthony. For the benefit of anyone reading this (hello?) here is it again:

Let me tell you what I think of bicycling. I think it has done more to emancipate women than anything else in the world. It gives women a feeling of freedom and self-reliance. I stand and rejoice every time I see a woman ride by on a wheel…the picture of free, untrammelled womanhood.
Susan B. Anthony, American Suffragist, 1896.

Thank you Saskia from Sydney Cycle Chic for making my evening with that gem. I’m reminded of a fabulous interview with Josephine Chime in the first issue of the Gentlewoman, which all of you reading this (hello?) must definitely read instantly. I transcribe:

Riding a bike is quite the way forward for the modern woman-on-the-move, isn’t it?

Listen, I am the future! I am someone who looks like she would love taxis and public transport and wouldn’t want to get on a bike and get all hot and sweaty riding about on it. But I’m so sick and tired of public transport being so shit and expensive that I’m taking travelling into my own hands. Soon, a lot more people like me are going to be saying “fuck you” to public transport. The roads will be full of people on bikes. Just getting on your bike, going where you want to go, in your own time, in your own way – it’s a beautiful thing, really.

For the full interview, which is delightful, see Modern Transport in The Gentlewoman Issue No.1, Spring Summer 2010 p.27

I have brushed the winter mould off my basket in preparation for Spring cycling season. Fuck you, public transport!

Blackie’s basket rescued from the shed and de-moulded.

Love Tillie

