Road rage

by tillieandcoco

Dear Tillie,

I just had my first ever road rage incident! I just walked in the door and I’m still shaking! From shock, I should add, I wasn’t the one raging.

I was about halfway home when I heard furious beeping behind me. Thinking something was wrong I look over my shoulder and there is a taxi less than a metre away from my bike beeping and gesticulating furiously! He was waving me to the left, which was ridiculous because I was riding in the right-lane-must-turn-right lane for a reason. I indicated, thinking maybe the penny will drop, but he kept on honking. This was even more bizarre as the lights were red and traffic stopped twenty metres ahead. I feebly flipped him the bird (that’s what you’re supposed to do in these situations, right?) and keep riding for the twenty metres before I came to a stop. Thought it would end there? Oh no. Not so easily. He kept honking and yelling at me even though we were stopped at the lights! I turned around and yelled “What do you want me to do? I have every right to be here!”. He in turn yelled some rather nasty phrases I refuse to repeat here, and some pretty impressive hand signs. I replied with “Well fuck you too!” which elicited laughs from the pedestrians at the lights. Guess it would have looked pretty amusing coming from a chick on a ladies bike wearing a peach cardigan and pearls. I’m just really annoyed I didn’t think to grab his licence plate, or cab number. I can’t even remember what company the cab was.

Wow. I still can’t believe that just happened.

Love Coco xx

