Vows

by Tillie

Dear Coco,

I know I have been a very remiss blogger of late. I’m sorry. I’m still here! We are both busy with Life Upheaval™, which I’m sure our readers (if they are still out there – hello readers!) will hear much more of in the coming months (stay with us, dudes). In the meantime, I wanted to share with you a lovely column in the New York Times called “Vows”, of which I have become a huge fan. Vows chronicles the stories of couples who have recently married. It includes a really wide range of people and experiences, and it is very addictive. This week, I got a tad misty-eyed reading about a Firefighter/cyclist who barely survived a terrible collision with a bus on the mean streets of New York, and managing to beat many a dark moment through some gentle encouragement* from others, met his lovely wife.

*I must say I love the role encouragement plays in this story. I saw Tony Benn speak at a conference a couple of years ago, and he said that one of the most important things you can do in life is encourage people. As someone on the receiving end of much encouragement, I can vouch for its transformative power.

Love Tillie

